The Chicago Architecture Biennial (CAB) announced today the list of international architecture firms and artists who will participate in its second edition, entitled “Make New History,” to take place September 16, 2017–January 7, 2018, in Chicago, Illinois.

Over 100 firms and artists representing countries around the world were selected by the 2017 Biennial Artistic Directors, Sharon Johnston and Mark Lee, of the Los Angeles–based firm Johnston Marklee. The participants (listed on the following pages) will present their architectural work at the Chicago Cultural Center, as well as additional sites across the city.

“The City of Chicago is proud to host new projects by architects, artists and designers from around the world with the 2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial,” said Mayor Rahm Emanuel of today’s announcement. “We are pleased to announce another outstanding lineup of work and perspectives to build on the success of the inaugural 2015 edition. Not only will the breadth of work represented by designers from around the world showcase the future of architecture, but it will also further reinforce Chicago’s stature as a global city.”

“Our goal for the 2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial is to continue to build on the themes and ideas presented in the first edition,” said Lee. In addition, Johnston said, “We hope to examine, through the work of the chosen participants, the continuous engagement with questions of history and architecture as an evolutionary practice.”

“This year’s list of participants was carefully chosen to showcase the future of architecture and design rooted in history,” said Todd Palmer, Executive Director of the Chicago Architecture Biennial. “Through presenting a variety of work, we aim to give visitors of all kinds, from leaders across the global architecture community to the interested traveler, an in-depth look at architecture as we know it today, and the chance to be inspired by how architecture is making new history in cities around the world.”

The Biennial’s return is based on the first edition’s success. In 2015, more than 530,000 Chicago residents and visitors took part in CAB, which—as the largest international exhibition of contemporary architecture ever to have taken place in North America—was unprecedented, featuring the ideas of more than 100 architecture and design firms from more than 30 countries. Based on the diverse representation of today’s lineup announcement, as well as the recent announcement of CAB’s new artistic leadership team, the second edition is poised to build on the success of the first. The Chicago Cultural Center, operated by Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, will once again serve as the anchor of the exhibition, with additional sites across the city.

The opening of the 2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial will align with the sixth annual EXPO CHICAGO, the International Exposition of Contemporary and Modern Art, which will run September 13–17, 2017 at Navy Pier.

51N4E (Brussels, Belgium; Tirana, Albania)
6a architects (London, UK)
Ábalos+Sentkiewicz (Madrid, Spain; Cambridge, USA; Shanghai, China)
Adamo-Faiden (Buenos Aires, Argentina)
AGENdA agencia de arquitectura (Medellin, Colombia)
Aires Mateus (Lisbon, Portugal)
Ana Prvački and SO-IL (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
Andrew Kovacs (Los Angeles, USA)
Angela Deuber Architect (Chur, Switzerland)
Ania Jaworska (Chicago, USA)
Aranda\Lasch and Terrol Dew Johnson (New York, USA; Tucson, USA)
Archi-Union (Shanghai, China)
Architecten de Vylder Vinck Taillieu (Ghent, Belgium)
Arno Brandlhuber and Christopher Roth (Berlin, Germany)
Atelier Manferdini (Venice, USA)
AWP office for territorial reconfiguration (Paris, France; London, UK)
Bak Gordon Arquitectos (Lisbon, Portugal)
Barbas Lopes (Lisbon, Portugal)
Barkow Leibinger (Berlin, Germany)
baukuh and Stefano Graziani (Milan, Italy; Genoa, Italy)
Besler & Sons LLC (Los Angeles, USA)
BLESS (Berlin, Germany)
Caruso St John and Thomas Demand (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland; Berlin, Germany)
Charlap Hyman & Herrero (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
Charles Waldheim (Cambridge, USA)
Christ & Gantenbein (Basel, Switzerland)
Daniel Everett (Chicago, USA; Salt Lake City, USA)
David Schalliol (Chicago, USA)
Dellekamp Arquitectos (Mexico City, Mexico)
Design With Company (Chicago, USA)
Diego Arraigada Arquitectos (Rosario, Argentina)
DOGMA (Brussels, Belgium)
DRDH (London, UK)
ENSAMBLE STUDIO (Madrid, Spain; Boston, USA)
Éric Lapierre Architecture (Paris, France)
Estudio Barozzi Veiga (Barcelona, Spain)
fala atelier (Porto, Portugal)
Filip Dujardin (Ghent, Belgium)
Fiona Connor and Erin Besler (Los Angeles, USA; Auckland, New Zealand)
First Office (Los Angeles, USA)
formlessfinder (New York, USA)
Frida Escobedo (Mexico City, Mexico)
Gerard & Kelly (Los Angeles, USA; New York, USA)
Go Hasegawa (Tokyo, Japan)
HHF Architects (Basel, Switzerland)
Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle (Chicago, USA)
J. MAYER H. und Partner, Architekten and Philip Ursprung (Berlin, Germany)
James Welling (New York, USA)
Jesús Vassallo (Houston, USA)
Jorge Otero-Pailos (New York, USA)
June14 Meyer-Grohbrügge & Chermayeff (New York, USA; Berlin, Germany)
Karamuk * Kuo Architects (New York, USA; Zurich, Switzerland)
Keith Krumwiede (New York, USA)
Kéré Architecture (Berlin, Germany)
Kuehn Malvezzi (Berlin, Germany)
Luisa Lambri (Milan, Italy)
Lütjens Padmanabhan Architekten (Zurich, Switzerland)
Made In (Geneva, Switzerland; Zurich, Switzerland)
MAIO (Barcelona, Spain)
Marianne Mueller (Zurich, Switzerland)
Marshall Brown (Chicago, USA)
MG&Co. (Houston, USA)
MONADNOCK (Rotterdam, The Netherlands)
MOS (New York, USA)
Norman Kelley (Chicago, USA; New York, USA)
Nuno brandåo costa arquitectos Ida (Porto, Portugal)
OFFICE Kersten Geers David Van Severen (Brussels, Belgium)
PASCAL FLAMMER (Zurich, Switzerland)
Patrick Braouezec (Paris, France)
Paul Andersen and Paul Preissner (Chicago, USA; Denver, USA)
Pezo Von Ellrichshausen (Concepción, Chile)
Philipp Schaerer (Zurich, Switzerland)
PRODUCTORA (Mexico City, Mexico)
REAL Foundation (London, UK)
Robert Somol (Chicago, USA)
SADAR+VUGA (Ljubljana, Slovenia)
Sam Jacob Studio (London, UK)
SAMI-arquitectos (Setubal, Portugal)
SANAA (Tokyo, Japan)
Sauter von Moos (Basel, Switzerland)
Sergison Bates (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland)
Serie Architects (London, UK; Zurich, Switzerland)
Stan Allen Architect (New York, USA)
Studio Anne Holtrop (Muharraq, Bahrain; Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Studiomumbai (Mumbai, India)
Sylvia Lavin (Los Angeles, USA)
T+E+A+M (Ann Arbor, USA)
Tatiana Bilbao Estudio (Mexico City, Mexico)
Tham & Videgård Arkitekter (Stockholm, Sweden)
The Empire (Verona, Italy)
The Living (New York, USA)
The Los Angeles Design Group (Los Angeles, USA)
Thomas Baecker Bettina Kraus (Berlin, Germany)
Tigerman McCurry Architects (Chicago, USA)
Toshiko Mori Architect (New York, USA)
UrbanLab (Chicago, USA; Los Angeles, USA)
Urbanus (Shenzhen, China; Beijing, China)
Veronika Kellndorfer (Berlin, Germany)
WORKac (New York, USA)
Zago Architecture (Los Angeles, USA)
ZAO/standardarchitecture (Shanghai, China)